Skip to content
History Cambridge on Facebook History Cambridge on YouTube History Cambridge on Instagram History Cambridge on Flickr
Search
Search
Donate
History Cambridge on Facebook History Cambridge on Twitter History Cambridge on YouTube History Cambridge on Instagram History Cambridge on Flickr
HC Array and Logotype Low Res
  • Research
    • Conduct Research
    • Researching A Person?
    • Researching A Building?
    • Using Our Archive
    • Index Of Finding Aids
    • History Cambridge Collaborative
  • Feeling
    Curious?
    • Ways To Explore
    • History Hubs
    • Articles
    • History Hive
    • Self-Guided Tours
    • Oral Histories
    • Works In Progress
  • What’s On?
    • Ways To Engage
    • Events
    • News
    • Tory Row Anti-Racism Coalition (TRAC)
    • Neighborhood History Centers
    • Volunteer
  • Support
    • Ways To Support Us
    • Give Online Now
    • Individual Support
    • Sponsorship
    • Legacy Giving
    • Volunteer
    • Bookstore
  • About
    • About Us
    • History Cambridge Collaborative
    • Neighborhood History Centers
    • Anti-Racism
    • Opportunities
    • Newsletters
    • Strategic Plan
    • Hooper-Lee-Nichols House
    • FAQ
  • Contact
Donate
HC Array and Logotype Low Res
  • Research
    • Conduct Research
    • Researching A Person?
    • Researching A Building?
    • Using Our Archive
    • Index Of Finding Aids
    • History Cambridge Collaborative
  • Feeling
    Curious?
    • Ways To Explore
    • History Hubs
    • Articles
    • History Hive
    • Self-Guided Tours
    • Oral Histories
    • Works In Progress
  • What’s On?
    • Ways To Engage
    • Events
    • News
    • Tory Row Anti-Racism Coalition (TRAC)
    • Neighborhood History Centers
    • Volunteer
  • Support
    • Ways To Support Us
    • Give Online Now
    • Individual Support
    • Sponsorship
    • Legacy Giving
    • Volunteer
    • Bookstore
  • About
    • About Us
    • History Cambridge Collaborative
    • Neighborhood History Centers
    • Anti-Racism
    • Opportunities
    • Newsletters
    • Strategic Plan
    • Hooper-Lee-Nichols House
    • FAQ
  • Contact

Do your own research (on Cambridge history)

September 4, 2025

By Michael Kuchta, 2025 As the city of Cambridge approaches its 400th anniversary and the nation its 250th, many people find themselves more interested in our collective past. You may be curious about the history of your street or neighborhood. Who built these buildings and when? Who lived and worked here? What products were made nearby?…

Read More

East Cambridge Ethnic Heritage Center

September 4, 2025
Black and white photo of a group of people standing on steps in front of a building

By Beth Folsom, 2025 The Cambridge Public Library announced in the summer of 1979 that it had received a $36,500 grant under the Library Services and Construction Act to create an Ethnic Heritage Center at the East Cambridge Branch Library. According to the Cambridge Chronicle, the goal of the center was “to provide resource materials…

Read More

In 1941, the ‘Dearos’ fought the ‘Foundry Fielders’ over where the borders of East Cambridge ended

July 31, 2025
The image is a black and white photograph of a train car on railroad tracks. The train car is dark-colored and has "BOSTON & MAINE" and the number "14281" visible on its side, along with "AIR BRAKE" in a circular logo. There are multiple sets of tracks in the foreground, and residential buildings are visible in the background. The overall scene suggests an older, possibly industrial, area.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 A headline in a 1941 Cambridge Sentinel asked: “What is East Cambridge?” The article recounts the “fracas” between local funeral home director Daniel F. O’Brien and police Capt. John Canney over who could claim to be a resident of the neighborhood.  O’Brien planned a reunion of current and former East Cambridge…

Read More

Pathway would have highlighted Cambridge’s history in the lead-up to the bicentennial

July 31, 2025
The image is a photograph of an outdoor interpretive sign titled "OLD CAMBRIDGE: The Transformation of Old Cambridge." The sign provides historical information about Cambridge, Massachusetts, divided into sections: THE FORCES OF CHANGE AND GROWTH: Discusses the period before 1880, public water supplies, sewers, and bridges, and the impact of the Boston subway and Harvard Square as a principal entry to Boston. It mentions the city's population growth from 18,000 in 1850 to more than 10,000 by 1890, and the expansion of housing and commercial buildings. FACING THE RIVER: Details efforts by Charles Eliot and the Cambridge and Metropolitan Park Commissions to develop parkland along the Charles River, including Memorial Drive. It also mentions the landfilling of tidal flats to create new land. THE EXPANDING HORIZONS OF KNOWLEDGE AND ART: Focuses on the physical expansion of Harvard University (1867-1900), including the construction of Widener Library. It also discusses the establishment of institutions like the Germanic Museum, the Peabody Museum, and the Fogg Art Museum. The text mentions prominent figures like Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, James Russell Lowell, and John Adams. It concludes by stating that Cambridge became a center of "science, law, philosophy, economics, government, and medicine," and a "center of authority and creative activity." The sign also features: An aerial photograph of the Charles River. An old photograph of Harvard Square with a trolley. A detailed map of Old Cambridge, showing the Charles River and various historical sites and buildings. Small illustrations of historical buildings below the map. At the bottom, the logo for the "CAMBRIDGE HISTORICAL COMMISSION 1977." The sign is set outdoors, with a brick ground visible beneath it and trees in the background.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 With a headline reading “Freedom Trail Here, Too,” the Cambridge Chronicle of April 12, 1962, detailed the recommendations of the Cambridge Historic Districts Study Committee for a pathway that would highlight 30 sites of colonial and revolutionary history in the city. The article was published just before the anniversary of the…

Read More

East Cambridge led, not to mention innovated in, the manufacture of coffin and caskets

July 31, 2025
a brick building in an urban setting with a large mural on its side. The mural features various figures and abstract shapes in shades of green, brown, and white. The building itself has multiple windows, some adorned with green vertical banners, and a green awning over an entrance. To the left, there's a modern glass building, and to the right, another brick building. Cars are visible on the street in front, which has a crosswalk and traffic signals.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 Brothers William and David Lockhart established their coffin- and casket-making factory on Bridge Street in East Cambridge in 1854. Woodworking shops of many varieties already existed in the neighborhood, and the Lockhart brothers themselves had a brief foray into the world of cabinet-making before turning their attention to caskets. What began…

Read More

‘Reading Frederick Douglass Together’ at CCTV invites community to participate on Wednesday

July 31, 2025
The image is a black and white portrait of Frederick Douglass, a prominent abolitionist and orator. He is depicted from the waist up, seated, with a serious expression, looking slightly to his right. He has a full head of light-colored, wavy hair and a mustache. He is wearing a dark suit with a vest and a white shirt with a bow tie.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 Frederick Douglass escaped in 1838 from enslavement in Maryland, where he had spent the first two decades of his life. Over the next 14 years, Douglass traveled around the northern states as an abolitionist speaker and writer, publishing his autobiography, “Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave,” and…

Read More

Forget July 4. For Cambridge, July 3 is the claim to fame

July 31, 2025
The image is a black and white illustration depicting a minuteman or Revolutionary War soldier holding a musket with a bayonet. The dates "1775" and "1875" are visible at the top, suggesting a centennial commemoration. Vertically written text on the left reads "Cambridge, Concord," and on the right, "and Lexington." This imagery strongly relates to the American Revolutionary War, particularly the events of Patriots' Day in Massachusetts.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 While the rest of the country was preparing to celebrate Independence Day on July 4, 1875, Cantabrigians were gearing up for the day before – July 3 – when they would commemorate the 100th anniversary of general George Washington taking command of the Continental Army on Cambridge Common in 1775.  As…

Read More

Brush-making in Cambridge used prison labor, ultimately defeating an industry and principle

July 31, 2025
The image is a black and white photograph, likely taken in 1938 based on the filename, showing a brick building with a sign that reads "HOUSE - CORRECTION JAIL OFFICE" above its entrance. The building has several windows, some with bars, and a prominent gable with two chimneys on the roof. To the left, there's a large arched entrance in a brick wall, and behind it, a tall smokestack is visible. A vintage car is parked on the street in front of the building. The overall scene suggests an institutional or industrial setting from the early 20th century.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 Beginning in the early 19th century, individual craftspeople and small-scale workshops in East Cambridge made a variety of brushes for domestic and commercial use. By midcentury, this had expanded into larger-scale industrial production; in the 1850s, Stratton, Sherriff & Co. employed more than 150 workers in its brush factory on South…

Read More

Lessons in East Cambridge history: Reflections on two centuries of newspaper coverage

July 31, 2025
The image is a black and white photograph depicting a street festival. Two men in the foreground are carrying a large statue of a female figure, possibly a religious icon, adorned with decorations. Other people are visible in the background, suggesting a crowd gathered for the event. The overall scene conveys a sense of community celebration.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 This is the third year of History Cambridge’s Neighborhood History Center model of programming, in which we choose one of Cambridge’s 13 neighborhoods on which to focus for a calendar year. For the past six months, I have delved into the history of this year’s neighborhood, East Cambridge, by reading the nearly…

Read More

East Cambridge’s American Net and Twine Co. reflects a history entangled with enslaved labor

July 31, 2025
The image shows the "AMERICAN TWINE Office Park," featuring a brick building with many windows and several trees in front of it. There's a sign indicating "SPACE FOR LEASE" with contact information for "TRANSATLANTIC MANAGEMENT" (617-492-1547) and stating it's "Managed by Transatlantic Investment Management, Inc." Several cars are parked in front of the building. The architectural style suggests an older industrial building that has been repurposed.

By Beth Folsom, 2025 Before the founding of the American Net and Twine Co. in 1844, fishing and other kinds of nets were either made locally using hemp fibers or were made of cotton but imported from England. American Net and Twine was the first manufacturer to use domestic cotton to craft its nets –…

Read More
Older Posts »

Sign up for our monthly e-newsletter

SIGN UP HERE

Our history is yours

We are a private non-profit funded by individual and corporate donations. We appreciate your support!

Donate
HC-Icon-White-Screen

sharing curiosity

Formerly Cambridge Historical Society

History Cambridge
159 Brattle Street
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138
617-547-4252
info@historycambridge.org

History Cambridge’s headquarters is located on the traditional homelands of the Massachusett people.

© 2026 History Cambridge. All Rights Reserved.

Sign up for our monthly e-newsletter

We send a monthly e-newsletter to subscribers, filled with stories and articles about our annual theme and updates about our activities.

Subscribe to Our E-Newsletter Today!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

Scroll To Top